Financial Literacy for Everyone
facebook

Financial Fortune Teller

Get a sneak peek into your financial future to see how well you are saving and planning for retirement.


Play Road Trip to Savings

Steer your way to financial stability



Debt

If you are in debt, you are not alone. Sometimes it is hard to know – or admit – if you have a problem with debt. It can be overwhelming to realize that you have gotten in over your head, and to worry that you will not be able to pay back what you owe. The key to getting out of your situation is to act now. Do not procrastinate. Taking charge of your finances and creating a plan for tackling your debt will cut down your anxiety and get you on the path toward a better financial future.

First, ask yourself whether debt has become a problem for you. Here are some circumstances that might indicate it has:

  • Next month's bills arrive before last month's have been paid
  • Your bills often include late fees
  • You avoid opening bills when they arrive in the mail
  • You procrastinate managing your account
  • You bounce checks

Write it Out
Do you actually know how much debt you have? Many people don't. Start by making a list of everything you owe, whether it is a mortgage, a credit card balance, a student loan or even money you borrowed from family or friends. Write down:

  • The lender's name
  • The amount you owe
  • The term of the loan
  • The interest rate and fees

Then total them up. Looking at the numbers can be worrisome, but this is a necessary first step to tackling your debt.

The power of 50
Paying the minimum amount due on your credit cards is one of the fastest ways to fall further into debt, and it can keep you in debt for years or decades.

If you have a credit card with a HK$3,000 balance at an annual interest rate of 18%, and you pay only the 2% minimum monthly payment of HK$60 per month, it would take you almost 8 years to pay off your bill. Not only that, your cumulative repayments would have totaled HK$5,587 – almost double the HK$3,000 you thought you were spending when you made the charges.

Paying just HK$50 above the minimum amount due each month will make an incredible difference in how quickly you can pay off what you owe. If you pay an additional HK$50 per month toward your HK$3,000 balance for a total payment of HK$110 a month, you could pay off the debt in 3 years, instead of almost 8 years, and save yourself over HK$1,700 in interest.

Be realistic
Now that you have analyzed your debt situation, it is time to look at your monthly budget and set realistic goals. That trip you had planned for next summer, or the new car you were hoping to buy may not be in the cards right now given your new outlook on reducing your debt. Use this free Rework Your Budget calculator to help you get your budget back on track.

Don't get discouraged
Reducing debt is like losing weight. You are not going to lose 50 pounds in a month – you need realistic goals in a reasonable time frame. Debt works the same way. For most people, it takes years to become debt-free. This does not mean you have to stop enjoying your life. It is just a reminder to live within your means and be diligent about adjusting any spending habits that have contributed to the situation you are in today. Dedicating yourself to paying off what you owe and becoming debt-free will be worth the wait, with the payoff being a brighter financial future.

理財睿智 輕鬆學習
facebook

財務水晶球

快速窺探你未來退休時的財務狀況,並清楚掌握現在的退休儲蓄計畫夠不夠完善。


開始「理財足球」遊戲

你是否已經準備好接受理財知識測試?



債務

很多人都承擔債務。有時候,你甚至很難知道或認定你有債務問題。負債可能對你構成個人壓力並令你擔心不能還清債務。走出這一困局的關鍵就是不再耽誤,坐言起行。掌握你的財政狀況並制訂計劃解決債務,這將緩解你的憂慮並令你的財政狀況更見明朗。

首先,檢討你的債務。假如出現以下幾種情況,你的債務可能已經出現問題:

  • 未清還上月賬單就收到下月賬單
  • 你的賬單時常載有逾期罰款
  • 收到賬單郵件後,你不願意查閱賬單
  • 你拖延管理你的賬戶
  • 你支付的支票出現退票

列出總債務
你是否知道自己的總負債金額?許多人並不知道。首先,列出所有的結欠項目,不論是按揭、信用卡結存還是助學貸款,或甚至是家人或朋友提供的借款。清單列明:

  • 借款人姓名
  • 欠款
  • 還款期限
  • 息率及費用

然後計算各項負債的總和。這些數字可能會令你非常擔憂,但這是必要的第一步。

每月50 的作用
每月只償還信用卡的最低還款額是令你債務負擔增加得最快的方式之一,而且亦會令你在未來幾年甚至幾十年內仍需承擔債務。

舉例來說,你的信用卡結欠為港幣3,000元,年利率為 18%,而你每月只償還 2% 的最低還款額(即每月港幣60元),你需要接近8年才能還清債務。屆時你已共付出港幣5,587元,你要付出的就差不多相等於原來港幣3,000元消費的雙倍。

然而如果你除最低還款額外,每月再償還港幣50元, 這就能大大加快你還清債務的速度。如果你每月為港幣3,000元的結欠額外償還港幣50元,即每月總共償還港幣110元,你將用3年而非8年償清所有債務,同時節省超過港幣1,700元的利息。

訂立實際可行的目標
當你已經分析過自己的負債狀況後,是時候檢討你的每月預算並訂立實際可行的目標。由於你需要清還債項,原本的夏季旅行或購買夢寐以求的新車計劃或需要取消。使用這個免費的重整預算計算機讓你的財務預算重回正軌。

別氣餒
清還債項如同減肥。你不可能在一個月內減掉50磅,你需要設定在合理時間內能夠實行目標,而清還債項亦同樣如是。對大部分人而言,清還債務需要多年的努力。這並非意味著你無法再享受人生,這只是提醒你要量入為出,並努力改掉那些令你負債的消費習慣。付出時間努力還清債務並讓自己成為零債務負擔是值得的,清償債務後,你的財務前景將變得一片光明。