Financial Literacy for Everyone
facebook

Financial Fortune Teller

Get a sneak peek into your financial future to see how well you are saving and planning for retirement.


Explore financial calculators

Can you afford a trip? How to save for a goal? Explore these calculators to help plan for your future.



Disability

Humans are amazingly adaptive. But sometimes it takes a long time to recover from unexpected circumstances. Car crashes. Heart attacks. Random acts of violence. Back injuries. Cancer. These can have long lasting impact on our ability to perform our jobs and earn money.

Your employer may offer you a few weeks of paid leave when you initially become incapacitated. But what if you still cannot work after that? Your ability to support your family and service your mortgage may be impacted.

You can protect yourself from the financial effects of these situations with long-term disability insurance. The ability to earn a living is often the most valuable asset for adults and it is critical for you to get coverage.

Disability Coverage Provided by Employer
Check with your employer. You may already have long-term disability coverage. Many employees do not even know it. If you do, make sure you know how well you are covered. You do not want to wait until you really need the benefits to discover gaps in the coverage.

Government Welfare Support
The Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme, administered by the Social Welfare Department, offers financial support to disabled residents in Hong Kong. Applicants will be means-tested and the level of support will be dependent on the disability. Additionally, disabled residents may also apply for additional grants to meet specific needs, including transport, medical and rents. Please click here to see the Social Welfare Department’s website for more details.

Disabled residents who are not receiving support from the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme may apply for benefits under the Social Security Allowance Scheme. The allowance scheme offers flat-rate financial support for qualified applicants.

Personal Disability Insurance Policy
Policies vary considerably from one to another. Make sure you know how well you are covered so that you can prepare around your policy. If your benefits are not great, you should increase your coverage, or save up more in your emergency fund.

  • Benefit Amount – Some policies will pay the insured a monthly income in the event of disability. The higher the premiums, the higher the payout. Decide on the appropriate benefit amount by assessing your needs if disability strikes and the premiums you are prepared to pay. Your insurer can offer you options based on your current income level.
  • Term of Benefits – Check for how long your benefits will be paid. Some policies will cover you for only a certain period. Others provide lifelong benefits. You can lower your premiums by reducing the term of your benefits.
  • Premium – The amount you will pay for your coverage depends on so many variables that it is impossible to list them all here. But some of the main factors are your age, your gender (on average, women live longer - longer benefit payments mean higher premiums), your job (how dangerous is it?), your income (how much will they have to pay out?), your medical history and your lifestyle.
  • Own Occupation – This is an important designation on your policy that determines what it means to be disabled. "Own occupation" means that you are disabled when you are unable to perform your current job. "Any occupation" means that you are disabled when you cannot perform any job. Obviously "own occupation" is preferable but it is also more expensive.
  • Waiting Period – The waiting period is how long you will wait after you are disabled to start receiving benefits. Most policies have at least a 30-day elimination period before they start paying you benefits. Otherwise, if you missed one day from work, they would have to pay you for that day. But other policies will wait even longer to start paying – 60, 90 or even 120 days. The longer the waiting period, the lower the premium. To determine how long a waiting period you should get, figure out how long you could go without earning income. If you have a claim, file it as soon as possible. That will start the waiting period and start your benefits faster.
  • Residual Benefits – Some policies will offer lower amounts for less than complete disability. The wording of the policy can sound very morbid – 20% for loss of an eye, 40% for loss of a limb and an eye, etc.

理財睿智 輕鬆學習
facebook

財務水晶球

快速窺探你未來退休時的財務狀況,並清楚掌握現在的退休儲蓄計畫夠不夠完善。


開始「儲蓄之旅」遊戲

踏上財政穩健之路



殘疾

人類的適應能力極強。可是當遇到不可預計的事故時,可能還是需要較長的時間復原,例如交通意外、突發性心臟病、遇到襲擊、背傷、癌症等,這些事故可能長遠影響執行職務及賺取收入的能力。

你的僱主或會讓你享有病假或數星期的短期傷殘假。但若是放假後你仍然未能工作的話,你會怎樣應對? 這可能影響你供養家庭和償還按揭的能力。

你可購買長期傷殘保險來保障這些情況引致的財務影響。謀生能力是大部份成年人最寶貴的資產,所以必須做好保障。

僱主提供的傷殘保障
你可向僱主查詢自己是否已有長期傷殘保障。許多僱員都受保障,但卻全不知情。假如經已受保,則應確保清楚了解保障範圍,勿待至真正需要索償時才發現保障有不足之處。

政府福利支援
社會福利署的綜合社會保障援助計劃為合資格的香港居民提供傷殘援助。申請人需通過入息審查,援助金額視乎傷殘程度而定。此外,香港居民亦可申請其他為傷殘人士而設的資助應付個別開支,包括交通、醫療及租金。有關詳情請按這裡瀏覽社會福利署網站。

傷殘人士如無領取綜合社會保障援助計劃的援助,可透過公共福利金計劃申領福利。這項計劃為合資格申請人士提供定額財務津貼。

個人傷殘保險保單
保單各有不同,你需清楚了解保障範圍,以作出其他相應籌劃。假如現有保險未算周全,你應加大保險範圍或儲蓄更多資金作應急之用。

  • 保障額 – 一些個人傷殘保險計劃在符合索償情況下可向被受保人每月支付賠償。保費越高,賠償額便越大。你可評估一旦傷殘時你需要多少保障,及考慮一下你願意支付多少保費。保險公司會根據你現時的收入水平提供多種選擇方案。
  • 保障年期 – 查詢保障的最長支付期限。有些保單只保障某段時期,有些則提供終身保障。假如縮短保障年期,便可省減保費。
  • 保費 – 你需支付的保費金額受多項因素影響,此處不能盡錄,但當中較重要的包括年齡、性別( 平均來說女性壽命較長,保障支付期較長,保費也相應較高) 、職業( 危險程度) 、收入( 保險公司需要支付多少保障額) 、醫療病歷和生活習慣。
  • 原本職業 – 這是保單的重要界定,釐定傷殘的定義。如果保單是基於「原本職業」的原則,傷殘的定義是指受保人無法執行原來工作。如果保單是基於「任何職業」 的原則, 傷殘的定義是指受保人無法執行任何職業。顯然,採用「原本職業」原則較好,但這種保單保費較高。
  • 等候期 – 等候期指傷殘後需要等候多久才可以獲取保障。所有保單均設有最少30天等候期,期滿後受保人才可以領取保障,否則只要你不能上班一天保險公司便要賠償那天的收入。不過有些保單的賠償等候期較長 —60、90 或甚至120 天。等候期越長,保費便越低。要釐定適當的等候期,應先計算沒有收入的話你可以生活多久。你若有需要索償,應盡快辦理,這樣可確保更快開始等候期,更快取得保障。
  • 局部賠償 – 某些保單會向非完全傷殘受保人提供較低的賠款。保單的措詞可以頗嚇人,例如喪失單眼獲20%賠償; 喪失單肢及單眼獲40%賠償等。