Financial Literacy for Everyone
facebook

Financial Fortune Teller

Get a sneak peek into your financial future to see how well you are saving and planning for retirement.


Need help budgeting your money?

See our tips on budgeting



Your Financial Life Together

Once the wedding is over, the practicality of day-to-day life together begins. In addition to dividing household responsibilities, couples will also need to determine who will pay the bills, track investments, review bank statements and more. Although it is not necessary to assign each task to one partner, it is critical that you have a system in place to ensure these tasks get done. Here are a few financial and estate-related items that newly married couples should consider.

Review Your Beneficiaries
Go through each of your accounts – including retirement and insurance plans – and ensure that the beneficiaries listed are still accurate. If you would like your spouse to receive the funds from your accounts in the event of your death, make him or her the beneficiary.

Revisit Your Insurance
Upon getting married, it is important to sit down and review both of your medical, life and car insurance plans. Review whether your coverage overlaps in certain areas, or whether you could be saving money by combining coverage.

Changing Your Name
If you change your name upon marrying to your spouse's last name, it is important that you notify certain organizations of the change. You should notify the Immigration Department immediately to register your new details and also to request a new Hong Kong Identity Card. You should also inform your employer and financial services providers such as banks and insurance companies.

Develop a Budget
Whether you already have individual budgets and want to combine them or you are new to budgeting, marriage marks an important time to sit down and create a plan for your spending and savings. Your new budget should reflect your shared living situation and both of your incomes and expenses. For help in developing a joint budget, click here.

理財睿智 輕鬆學習
facebook

財務水晶球

快速窺探你未來退休時的財務狀況,並清楚掌握現在的退休儲蓄計畫夠不夠完善。


在制定預算上需要幫忙嗎?

快查看預算制定小貼士



共同管理財政

婚禮結束後,你倆便要面對共同生活的日常事務。除了分擔家務,夫婦二人還要決定由誰支付賬單、管理投資、審閱銀行月結單等。雖然不是每件事也要明確指定誰來負責,但必須有良好的系統,確保辦妥生活事務。以下列出一些新婚夫婦應考慮的財務及產業相關事項:

覆檢受益人名單
逐一檢核你的賬戶,包括退休及保險計劃,確保受益人名單依然準確。假如你希望配偶在你一旦身故時可獲取資金,便應把他/她加入受益人名單。

檢核保險計劃
結婚後,夫婦二人應坐下來好好為你們的醫療、人壽及汽車保險計劃作檢討,看看是否有某些投保範圍重疊,又或應否綜合投保節省保費。

更改名字
若婚後改用配偶的姓氏,必須作出申報。你應立即通知入境事務處登記新的個人資料,同時申領新身份證,此外並要通知僱主及金融服務供應商,例如銀行和保險公司等。

擬定預算
不論你們之前是否已各自訂立個人預算而現在打算綜合為一,又或從未做過財務預算,都應趁結婚這個重要人生階段為支出及儲蓄定下計劃。新預算應能反映你們的共同生活以及雙方的收入和開支。有關擬定夫婦共同財務預算的指引,請按這裡