Financial Literacy for Everyone
facebook

Financial Fortune Teller

Get a sneak peek into your financial future to see how well you are saving and planning for retirement.


Explore financial calculators

Can you afford a trip? How to save for a goal? Explore these calculators to help plan for your future.



Budgeting for Parents

When your baby is born, your financial picture changes drastically. Now it is more important than ever to create, maintain and stick to a budget. You now have someone depending on you to keep the family financial matters in order. A well-thought-out budget will be your most valuable tool in managing the family money. If you already have a budget, you will need to revise it to fit your new, expanded family.

Do not throw away your old budget. You can use it as a starting point for a new budget. Go through each of your expenses to see if they will change with your new baby. For example, your rent or mortgage will probably stay the same. But electric bills might increase if one person is planning to stay at home every day. Add all the extra costs of raising a child into your budget. Another parent can help you identify what extra expenses might come up on a regular basis and what you can expect to spend on them.

One Income versus Two
One of the hardest decisions for new parents is whether to have one parent stay at home full-time. As much as we wish it was not the case, this decision is often made based on financial considerations rather than emotional and developmental considerations. Here are some questions that might help guide your decision:

  • Are both jobs paying off? A job is more than just income - it also includes expenses. There is gas and/or other expenses related to transportation. You may eat out much more when working. You will need to pay for childcare while you are at work as well. Add up all of these work-related expenses to figure out how much you would really lose by staying home. It may not be as big a loss as you thought.
  • Can you afford not to work? Subtract your income and work-related expenses from your budget. If that produces a deficit, see if you can cut any expenses but keep your savings as high as possible.
  • What are the emotional costs? Some parents cannot wait to get back to work after maternity or paternity leave. As beautiful and enjoyable as the parent-child relationship is, it can get stifling. Parents often yearn for the company and conversation of another adult, the satisfaction of working and the structure of a regular day at the office. If you decide to be a stay-at-home parent, make sure you receive the stimulation you need by getting out of the house once in a while, spending time with friends, or arranging a trusted babysitter so that you can spend some time taking care of only yourself.

理財睿智 輕鬆學習
facebook

財務水晶球

快速窺探你未來退休時的財務狀況,並清楚掌握現在的退休儲蓄計畫夠不夠完善。


遊戲中學習

誰說學習理財知識欠缺趣味?快來試玩理財遊戲!



子女開支預算

家中添了小寶寶,財務規劃也截然不同。在此時,你必須重新定下理財預算,還要持之以恒,避免超支。需知道你是子女的依靠,所以必須好好掌握家庭財政。一套經過周全策劃的預算是家庭理財最重要的工具。 假如你以往也有理財預算,你需要因為家庭加添了新成員而作出調整。

不要棄掉舊的理財預算,因它可以作為新預算的框架。檢查每項開支,看看家庭增添新成員後情況是否有變。例如,住所的租金或按揭供款相信不會改變,但要是一位家庭成員打算每天留在家中照顧寶寶,電費開支便可能增加。 養育子女的所有額外開支均應納入預算。你可請教其他家長,了解一些養育子女的經常性額外開支,及所需的金額。

二人工作或是一人工作
初為人父母最困難的抉擇之一是夫婦其中一人應否放棄工作,全職照顧小孩,而最終的決定往往也基於財務考慮,而不是基於情感和子女成長發展的需要。以下問題或可助你作出決定:

  • 兩份工作都值得做嗎? 一份工作不僅帶來入息,亦會產生開支。例如上班的交通費。就職的人出外用膳較多,亦可能要聘請家務助理照顧小孩。將所有與工作相關的開支加起來,便可知道要是放棄工作究竟有多大的損失,數字可能小於你所想。
  • 放棄工作你能應付嗎? 在你理財預算撇除你的入息和工作相關開支。假如出現負數,看看能否減少一些開支,與此同時盡量增加儲蓄。
  • 有甚麼情感上的損失? 有些家長放完產假或侍產假後便急不及待復工。親子關係誠然美好和愉快,但也會令人感到煩悶。許多初為人父母的人士都渴望有其他成年人作伴或交談。他們懷念工作的滿足感及辦公室工作的生活規律。假如你決定留在家照顧小寶寶,確保不時抽空外出舒展一下,可以約朋友聊聊天,又或找個可靠的媬姆代你看管孩子,以便享受私人時間,好好照顧一下自己的需要。