Financial Literacy for Everyone
facebook

Financial Fortune Teller

Get a sneak peek into your financial future to see how well you are saving and planning for retirement.


Play Road Trip to Savings

Steer your way to financial stability



Renting an Apartment

While it does not offer any investment potential, renting an apartment may be the wisest financial choice for many people. Some may be saving for a down payment on a home, others may be unable to afford buying a home. For families or individuals who move often or for those not interested in the maintenance and repair of a home, renting can offer freedom to relocate and some relief from the costs of home ownership. No matter why an individual is renting, it is a great idea to know about the financial and legal aspects.

Tenancy Agreements
A tenancy agreement is a binding legal document that lays out the conditions and responsibilities of a rental contract, both for the owner and the tenant. Some of the terms commonly found in a tenancy agreement would include: rental price, payment due date, lease term and the consequences of breaching the agreement. A tenancy agreement generally also outlines whether the tenant or landlord will pay charges such as rates and building service fees, whether pets are allowed and any other restrictions and requirements the landlord wants to include.

Read your tenancy agreement very carefully before you sign it. You will be held accountable for knowing everything included in the document. Also, keep a copy of it for your records. It may come in handy if you have a question about what you are or are not allowed to do.

Breaking a Tenancy Agreement
You should avoid breaking a tenancy agreement by moving out before the end of the agreed term if at all possible. Each agreement has its own penalties for breaking the terms - some only require the payment of a penalty but others require the tenant to continue paying rent until the apartment is re-rented. For this reason, it is critical to check your tenancy agreement and make sure you can handle the financial ramifications should you break it.

Source: Estate Agents Authority

理財睿智 輕鬆學習
facebook

財務水晶球

快速窺探你未來退休時的財務狀況,並清楚掌握現在的退休儲蓄計畫夠不夠完善。


在制定預算上需要幫忙嗎?

快查看預算制定小貼士



租住樓宇

租用住宅單位雖然不會帶來投資潛在回報,但對許多人來說卻可能是最明智的選擇。有些人正在儲蓄置業首期;有些人可能無法負擔自行置業。對於經常搬家或不喜歡維修家居的家庭或人士,租住物業便可靈活自由地搬遷,此外亦不用負擔業主必須承受的費用。無論你因何理由租住居所,也應了解相關的財務及法律要點。

租約
租約是一份訂明業主與租客雙方條款與責任的有法律約束性文件。租約訂明租金、付款到期日、租約年期及在任何一方違約的後果。此外通常並會列明由租客或業主支付差餉及大廈管理費等開支,以及是否准許飼養寵物和業主附加的其他限制及規定。

簽署租約前請小心閱讀文件,因為一旦簽名便表示你明白文件所有內容並就此承擔責任,此外並要保留副本作為記錄。日後若有疑問時,便有據可依。

違反租約
你應盡量避免在協定租期屆滿前遷出物業,以免違反租約。每份租約的違約罰則不盡相同,有些只規定違約方支付罰款,有些則指定租客繼續支付租金直至物業重新租出為止。因此,應緊記查閱租約內容,確保你有能力應付違約的經濟後果。

資料來源:地產代理監管局