Financial Literacy for Everyone
facebook

Financial Fortune Teller

Get a sneak peek into your financial future to see how well you are saving and planning for retirement.


Play and learn

Who says learning about money cannot be fun? Try one of our money skills games today!



Grants and Scholarship

A wide range of grants and subsidies are available from the Hong Kong Government to help residents meet the cost of education at all levels – from pre-school to tertiary. The Student Financial Assistance Agency (SFAA) is the main body responsible for the administration of financial aid for education.

Pre-school Grants and Subsidies
Parents may apply to the SFAA for subsidies to help pay their children's kindergarten fees under the Pre-primary Education Voucher Scheme. Applicants are not subject to means testing, but they need to check that their children's kindergartens are participating in the scheme.

The SFAA also offers subsidies for children's kindergarten fees under the Kindergarten and Child Care Centre Fee Remission Scheme. This program is designed to supplement the voucher scheme, and is intended for lower-income families. Applicants for the fee remission scheme will be means-tested.

Primary School Grants and Subsidies
Parents of primary school students may apply to the SFAA for subsidies to help pay for the cost of textbooks, commuting, public examination fees and residential subscriptions to Internet access. Applicants will be means-tested to determine eligibility and the level of payouts.

Secondary School Grants and Subsidies
Similarly, the SFAA also offers subsidies to parents of secondary school students to meet the costs of textbooks, commuting, public examination fees and residential Internet subscriptions, subject to means testing. Applicants will be means-tested to determine eligibility and the level of payouts.

Students enrolled on the Yi Jin Diploma program may apply to the SFAA for reimbursement of tuition fees, subject to performance requirements. Applicants will be means-tested to determine eligibility and the level of reimbursement.

Tertiary-level Grants and Subsidies
Full-time post-secondary students may apply to the SFAA for grants to help pay for tuition fees, academic expenses and travel costs. Eligible students must be enrolled on a recognized academic program at an accepted local university or higher-education institution. Applicants will be means-tested to determine eligibility and the level of payouts. In addition to grants and subsidies, students may also apply to the SFAA for loans to cover living expenses.

Scholarships
In addition to grants provided by the SFAA, residents may also apply for financial support from scholarship programs including:

  • Grantham Scholarships Fund - this fund offers grants to students at local secondary schools and some approved vocational courses
  • Sir Edward Youde Memorial Fund - this fund offers grants to students at local and overseas universities
  • Scholarship for Prospective English Teachers - this fund offers financial support for students training to be English-language teachers

Sources: Student Financial Assistance Agency, Education Bureau

理財睿智 輕鬆學習
facebook

財務水晶球

快速窺探你未來退休時的財務狀況,並清楚掌握現在的退休儲蓄計畫夠不夠完善。


開始「儲蓄之旅」遊戲

踏上財政穩健之路



助學金與奬學金

香港政府設有多種助學金和津貼,協助本港居民應付教育開支。這些計劃提供由學前教育以至專上教育不同程度的需要。學生資助辦事處(學資處)是主要負責管理教育資助的政府機構。

學前教育助學金及津貼
家長可透過「學前教育學券計劃」向學資處申請津貼,作為子女幼稚園學費的補助。申請這項津貼毋須審查入息,但家長應先向子女就讀的幼稚園查詢有否參與此計劃。

學資處亦透過「幼稚園及幼兒中心學費減免計劃」提供津貼,減輕申請人的幼稚園學費負擔。此計劃旨在幫助低入息家庭,讓他們獲取學券計劃以外的學費減免。此計劃的申請人必須通過入息審查。

小學助學金及津貼
子女正就讀小學的家長可向學資處申請教科書、學生車船交通、公開考試費及家居上網費用津貼。申請人必須接受入息審查,以確定是否合符資格和釐定津貼額。

中學助學金及津貼
同樣,學資處也為通過入息審查的中學生家長提供教科書、學生車船交通、公開考試費及家居上網費用津貼。申請人必須接受入息審查,以確定是否合符資格和釐定津貼額。

參與 「毅進計劃」 的學生如通過成績評核可向學資處申請學費發還。申請人必須接受入息審查,以確定是否合符資格和釐定發還金額。

專上教育助學金及津貼
全日制專上學生可向學資處申請學費、學術開支及交通費資助。申請的學生必須在本地認可大學或專上教育機構修讀認可學術課程,方符合資格。申請人必須接受入息審查,以確定是否合符資格和釐定資助額。除了助學金和津貼,學生還可向學資處申請生活費貸款。

獎學金
除了學資處的資助外,本港居民亦可透過下列獎學金計劃獲得資助:

  • 葛量洪獎學基金 — 本基金為就讀本港中學和部份核准職業訓練學院的學生提供資助
  • 尤德爵士紀念基金 — 本基金資助學生在本港及海外大學接受教育
  • 準英語教師獎學金 — 本基金專門資助修讀英語教師培訓課程的學生

資料來源:學生資助辦事處教育局